August 20 - August 27

The Four Powers of the Mage

It has been taught that those who wish to work with magic must learn four key powers: to Know, to Will, to Dare, and to Keep Silent. Telling ourselves the story of The Twelve Wild Swans (the theme of the very first Vermont camp), we will explore the meaning of these Four Powers of the Mage to us today in our personal and political work, and consider the shadows of each. Just as there is a “fifth sacred thing” that grows from the four elements, we will look together for that place of power where all four may come together to create a fifth — the power of transformation called magick.